Missed Connection

Quest2105 Theme Day 10 comes to us with care from bestselling author and visionary Seth Godin:

Who would miss you if you were gone? If you didn’t show up to work, didn’t send out that newsletter, didn’t make that sales call, didn’t tweet that tweet… who would miss it? How does your answer shape how you’ll live out 2015?

 

What does it mean to miss someone anyway? What are you missing, exactly? Is it the presence of her company, the conversation, the knowing that you have access, or the existence of the connection itself? Is it missing the potential, the things that could be, the absence of output, the words and stories that will never come? Or does it mean the slings and arrows whiz past their target without piercing it? Is missing a type of longing, or is it a concrete and physical thing, like not making it to your flight on time? The honest truth is that we miss people all the time, even when they are right here in front of us. And sometimes we just don’t miss them at all.
to notice the absence or loss of…

 

… we are all missing something all of the time. But mostly, we have lost pieces of ourselves.

 

I have missed me, my absence, my loss. But I am back now.
to fail to reach, hit, meet, find, or attain…

 

I failed myself. I missed my mark. Time to re-aim.

 

to fail to attend or be present for: to miss a train, to miss an appointment…

 

It’s time to show up for ourselves.
to fail to see, hear, understand, or perceive: to miss a point

 

This is missing I can do without.
Leave a Reply

